Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

International League Governors' Cup Champions

1933 Buffalo Bisons Ray Schalk Rochester Red Wings George Toporcer
1934 Toronto Maple Leafs Ike Boone Rochester Red Wings George Toporcer
1935 Syracuse Chiefs Nemo Leibold Montreal Royals Frank Shaughnessy
1936 Buffalo Bisons* Ray Schalk Baltimore Orioles Guy Sturdy
1937 Newark Bears* Oscar Vitt Baltimore Orioles Clyde Crouse
1938 Newark Bears* Johnny Neun Buffalo Bisons Steve O'Neill
1939 Rochester Red Wings Billy Southworth Newark Bears Johnny Neun
1940 Newark Bears Johnny Neun Baltimore Orioles Tommy Thomas
1941 Montreal Royals Clyde Sukeforth Newark Bears Johnny Neun
1942 Syracuse Chiefs Jewel Ens Jersey City Giants Frank Snyder
1943 Syracuse Chiefs Jewel Ens Toronto Maple Leafs Burleigh Grimes
1944 Baltimore Orioles* Tommy Thomas Newark Bears Bill Meyer
1945 Newark Bears Bill Meyer Montreal Royals Bruno Betzel
1946 Montreal Royals* Clay Hopper Syracuse Chiefs Jewel Ens
1947 Syracuse Chiefs Jewel Ens Buffalo Bisons Paul Richards
1948 Montreal Royals* Clay Hopper Syracuse Chiefs Jewel Ens
1949 Montreal Royals Clay Hopper Buffalo Bisons Paul Richards
1950 Baltimore Orioles Nick Cullop Rochester Red Wings Johnny Keane
1951 Montreal Royals* Walter Alston Syracuse Chiefs Bruno Betzel
1952 Rochester Red Wings Harry Walker Montreal Royals Walter Alston
1953 Montreal Royals Walter Alston Rochester Red Wings Harry Walker
1954 Syracuse Chiefs Skeeter Newsome Montreal Royals Max Macon
1955 Rochester Red Wings Fred Walker Toronto Maple Leafs Luke Sewell
1956 Rochester Red Wings Fred Walker Toronto Maple Leafs Bruno Betzel
1957 Buffalo Bisons Phil Cavarretta Miami Marlins Donald Osborn
1958 Montreal Royals* Clay Bryant Toronto Maple Leafs Fred Walker
1959 Havana Sugar Kings Preston Gomez Richmond Virginians Mike Souchok
1960 Toronto Maple Leafs* Mel McGaha Rochester Red Wings Clyde King
1961 Buffalo Bisons Kerby Farrell Rochester Red Wings Clyde King
1962 Atlanta Crackers Joe Schultz Jacksonville Suns Ben Geraghty
1963 Indianapolis Indians* Rollie Hemsley Atlanta Crackers Harry Walker
1964 Rochester Red Wings Darrell Johnson Syracuse Chiefs Frank Carswell
1965 Toronto Maple Leafs Dick Williams Columbus Jets Larry Shepard
1966 Toronto Maple Leafs Dick Williams Richmond Braves Bill Adair
1967 Toledo Mud Hens Jack Tighe Columbus Jets Pete Peterson
1968 Jacksonville Suns Clyde McCullough Columbus Jets Johnny Pesky
1969 Syracuse Chiefs Frank Verdi Columbus Jets Don Hoak
1970 Syracuse Chiefs* Frank Verdi Columbus Jets Joe Morgan
1971 Rochester Red Wings* Joe Altobelli Tidewater Tides Hank Bauer
1972 Tidewater Tides Hank Bauer Louisville Colonels Darrell Johnson
1973 Pawtucket Red Sox Darrell Johnson Charleston Charlies Joe Morgan
1974 Rochester Red Wings* Joe Altobelli Syracuse Chiefs Bobby Cox
1975 Tidewater Tides* Joe Frazier Syracuse Chiefs Bobby Cox
1976 Syracuse Chiefs Bobby Cox Richmond Braves Jack McKeon
1977 Charleston Charlies Jim Beauchamp Pawtucket Red Sox Joe Morgan
1978 Richmond Braves Tommie Aaron Pawtucket Red Sox Joe Morgan
1979 Columbus Clippers* Gene Michael Syracuse Chiefs Vern Benson
1980 Columbus Clippers* Joe Altobelli Toledo Mud Hens Cal Ermer
1981 Columbus Clippers* Frank Verdi Richmond Braves Eddie Haas
1982 Tidewater Tides Jack Aker Rochester Red Wings Lance Nichols
1983 Tidewater Tides Davey Johnson Richmond Braves Eddie Haas
1984 Pawtucket Red Sox Tony Torchia Maine Guides Doc Edwards
1985 Tidewater Tides Bob Schaefer Columbus Clippers Stump Merrill
1986 Richmond Braves* Roy Majtyka Rochester Red Wings John Hart
1987 Columbus Clippers Bucky Dent Tidewater Tides Mike Cubbage
1988 Rochester Red Wings* Johnny Oates Tidewater Tides Mike Cubbage
1989 Richmond Braves* Jim Beauchamp Syracuse Chiefs Bob Bailor
1990 Rochester Red Wings* Greg Biagini Columbus Clippers Rick Down
1991 Columbus Clippers* Rick Down Pawtucket Red Sox Butch Hobson
1992 Columbus Clippers* Rick Down Scranton/WB Red Barons Lee Elia
1993 Charlotte Knights* Charlie Manuel Rochester Red Wings Bob Miscik
1994 Richmond Braves* Grady Little Syracuse Chiefs Bob Didier
1995 Ottawa Lynx* Pete Mackanin Norfolk Tides Toby Harrah
1996 Columbus Clippers* Stump Merrill Rochester Red Wings Marv Foley
1997 Rochester Red Wings* Marv Foley Columbus Clippers Stump Merrill
1998 Buffalo Bisons* Jeff Datz Durham Bulls Bill Evers
1999 Charlotte Knights* Tom Spencer Durham Bulls Bill Evers
2000 Indianapolis Indians* Steve Smith Scranton/WB Red Barons Marc Bombard
2001 Louisville RiverBats* Dave Miley Scranton/WB Red Barons Marc Bombard
2002 Durham Bulls* Bill Evers Buffalo Bisons Eric Wedge
2003 Durham Bulls* Bill Evers Pawtucket Red Sox Buddy Bailey
2004 Buffalo Bisons* Marty Brown Richmond Braves Pat Kelly
2005 Toledo Mud Hens* Larry Parrish Indianapolis Indians Trent Jewett
2006 Toledo Mud Hens* Larry Parrish Rochester Red Wings Stan Cliburn
2007 Richmond Braves* Dave Brundage Durham Bulls Charlie Montoyo
2008 Scranton/WB Yankees* Dave Miley Durham Bulls Charlie Montoyo
2009 Durham Bulls* Charlie Montoyo Scranton/WB Yankees Dave Miley
2010 Columbus Clippers* Mike Sarbaugh Durham Bulls Charlie Montoyo
2011 Columbus Clippers* Mike Sarbaugh Lehigh Valley IronPigs Ryne Sandberg
2012 Pawtucket Red Sox* Arnie Beyeler Charlotte Knights Joel Skinner
2013 Durham Bulls* Charlie Montoyo Pawtucket Red Sox Gary DiSarcina
2014 Pawtucket Red Sox* Kevin Boles Durham Bulls Charlie Montoyo
2015 Columbus Clippers* Chris Tremie Indianapolis Indians Dean Treanor
2016 Scranton/WB RailRiders* Al Pedrique Gwinnett Braves John Moses
2017 Durham Bulls* Jared Sandberg Scranton/WB RailRiders Al Pedrique
2018 Durham Bulls* Jared Sandberg Scranton/WB RailRiders Bobby Mitchell
2019 Columbus Clippers* Tony Mansolino Durham Bulls Brady Williams

* Also Pennant Winner

After 10 seasons in a two division format, the International League switched to a three division alignment in 1998. The practice of recognizing the League Champion as not only the Pennant Winner, but also the Governors' Cup Winner will continue.