Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Romine, Bromberg highlight FSL All-Stars

Miracle's Smith named Manager of the Year
August 31, 2009
Yankees catcher Austin Romine was named Player of the Year and Twins right-hander Dave Bromberg was voted Pitcher of the Year on Monday as the Florida State League revealed its 2009 postseason All-Star team.

Romine, following in the footsteps of former Tampa catcher Jesus Montero, put up solid numbers for the Yankees behind the plate, hitting .273 with 12 homers, 70 RBIs and 11 stolen bases through 115 games. He was named Player of the Week on June 8 after batting .300 with 17 RBIs in 26 games in May.

Bromberg has been the ace for Fort Myers this season with a league-leading 13 wins through Aug. 30. The right-hander is 13-3 with a 2.61 ERA and tops the circuit with 141 strikeouts in 148 1/3 innings for the Miracle. A 2008 Midwest League All-Star, Bromberg was also named Pitcher of the Year in 2007 by the Appalachian League.

The Twins' 32nd-round pick in 2005, Bromberg allowed only one home run through June 1, a span of 50 1/3 innings.

Charlotte's Darin Downs joined Bromberg on the All-Star rotation, while Romine's batterymate Lance Pendleton also made the staff -- both Downs and Pendleton have been promoted this season. Brevard County's Amaury Rivas rounded out the rotation.

Daytona's Robinson Chirinos joined Romine behind the plate. Fort Myers first baseman Chris Parmelee, who ranks second in the league with 16 homers, anchors a solid infield.

Mets prospect Kirk Nieuwenhuis highlights the All-Star outfielders. The 22-year-old leads the league with 91 runs scored and 35 doubles and ranks second in homers (16), third in RBIs (71) and fifth in hits (132) for St. Lucie.

Fort Myers' Jeff Smith was named Manager of the Year while the Manatees' Mike Guerrero and the Yankees' Luis Sojo were voted Coaches of the Year.

The team was selected by managers, official scorers, and reporters representing the 12 teams in the league.

2009 Florida State League Postseason All-Star Team
CAustin RomineTampaLFBen RevereFort Myers
CRobinson ChirinosDaytonaCFLogan SchaferBrevard County
1BChris ParmaleeFort MyersRFCaleb GindlBrevard County
2BEric FarrisBrevard CountyUTIL-OFKirk NieuwenhuisSt. Lucie
3BBrandon LairdTampaRHSPDavid BrombergFort Myers
SSStarlin CastroDaytonaLHSPDarin DownsCharlotte
UTIL-IFShawn O'MalleyCharlotteRHSPLance PendletonTampa
DHTim KennellyClearwaterRHSPAmaury RivasBrevard County
RHRPMatthew GorgenCharlotte
RHRPJonathan HovisTampa
Player of the Year: Austin Romine, Tampa
Pitcher of the Year: David Bromberg, Fort Myers
Manager: Jeff Smith, Fort Myers
Coach: Mike Guerrero, Brevard County
Coach: Luis Sojo, Tampa

Danny Wild is an editor for